There are now eight states in America where no permit is required in order to carry a concealed handgun on one’s person for self-defense, after West Virginia legislators overrode Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s (D) veto of a permitless carry law.

The West Virginia House overrode Tomblin’s veto on March 4 and the West Virginia Senate followed suit on March 5. WSAZ 3 reports that permitless carry “becomes law” 90 days from date of veto override.

This means there are now eight states where the Second Amendment is the only carry permit required.

It is important to note that there are still various rules that need to be learned and followed–in Montana, for instance, there are requirements for a permit in order to carry concealed in a city setting and many of the states have different rules for residents vs. non-residents–but apart from such caveats, permitless carry is the law of the land in Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Montana, Vermont, Wyoming, and West Virginia.

Read more

Our 4th of July Super Sale has been extended! Get double Patriot Points and free shipping on the hottest items!

Related Articles