Dean Nelson
London Telegraph
October 11, 2010

According to Indian diplomatic sources, New Delhi will use its place at the high table of the world’s leading powers to push for UN reform to reflect the rise of growing powers like itself, Brazil and South Africa.

  • A d v e r t i s e m e n t
  • {openx:49}

India will take up its place on the 15 member council as a regional representative of Asia following a vote at the United Nations General Assembly. It will join its ally South Africa, Colombia and two countries out of Germany, Canada and Portugal.

Should Germany win the election, three members of the Group of Four alliance pushing for an expanded Security Council – Germany, Brazil, India and Japan – will form an influential pro-reform caucus. Brazil is currently serving the second of its two year term as a regional representative.

Fresh food that lasts from eFoodsDirect

In any case, all four of the ‘BRIC’ countries – Brazil, Russia, India and China, the world’s fastest growing economies – will sit together on the Council for the first time, strengthening the hand of the world’s growing powers.

Read full article

The Emergency Election Sale is now live! Get 30% to 60% off our most popular products today!

Related Articles