Ashfaq Ahmed
Gulf News
May 13, 2013

Two time former Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif is all set to come in to power for the third time after winning the general elections with a thumping majority.

Sharif, who made a great comeback in the election that saw unprecedented 60 per cent turn out of voters, will form a stable government without entering in to a political alliance with his rivals including President Asif Ali Zardari’s Pakistan People Party (PPP), Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Altaf Hussain’s Muttahid Qaumi Movement (MQM).

According to unofficial results, Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) has won more than 125 seats out of the total 272 contested seats of the 342 house of the National Assembly. There are 70 reserved seats including 60 for women and 10 for non-Muslim minorities which are awarded according to the percentage of the total seats each party wins. With the majority of the reserved seats going to him, Sharif is comfortably placed to become the prime minister again with the help of seats won by more than 25 independent candidates.

Read full article

The Emergency Election Sale is now live! Get 30% to 60% off our most popular products today!

Related Articles