Texas Governor Greg Abbott joined Texas Senator Ted Cruz in Washington Tuesday to announce two new bills to keep refugees from Syria and four other nations out of the U.S.

One measure Cruz proposed would immediately bar refugees from not only Syria, but four other countries where terror organizations operate: Iraq, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen.

The bill does make an exception for refugees if they’re a victim of genocide designated by Congress or the U.S. State Department.

It sunsets after three years.

Read more

Related Articles