The US is going to begin monitoring all travelers who enter the country from Liberia, Sierra Leone, and Guinea for three weeks after landing to detect symptoms of Ebola. Time reports that the program will begin on Monday in New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Maryland, and Georgia, which is where most travelers coming from these countries end their trips. As was previously announced, travelers will also be required to go through one of just five airports that will pass them through an enhanced screening process.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention announced the new regulations on a call Wednesday morning. According to Time, monitored travelers will be given kits that help track their temperature, with instructions to update officials daily. Travelers will reportedly also have to provide two phone numbers, two email addresses, a home address, and whatever address they’ll be reachable at over the next three weeks, as well as that same information for a friend or family member of theirs. They must also report any travel plans and coordinate with the CDC on how they will continue to report their status.

Read more

Our 4th of July Super Sale has been extended! Get double Patriot Points and free shipping on the hottest items!

Related Articles